Skip to main content

Automation: Zendesk Integration Setup

Text Guide

Zendesk has a few values that you'll need to record. For each bold item below, copy the value somewhere safe like a password manager and label it to make it easy to track.

  • Log in to your Zendesk account as an admin and note your account Subdomain (the your-company portion of your-company.zendesk.com)
  • Open Admin Center:

  • Open Apps and integrations -> APIs -> OAuth clients
    • Click Add OAuth client
    • Enter a Client name such as TrueVault Polaris (this name is only used to identify the client in your OAuth clients list)
    • Set the Client kind to Confidential
    • Copy the Unique identifier — this is the Client ID
    • Click Save
    • Copy the Client Secret shown
      • This is the only time the full secret will be shown in Zendesk
  • Navigate to the Integrations page in Polaris and click Connect for Zendesk
  • Click Connect in the popup and enter the following values that you copied earlier:
    • Subdomain
    • Client ID (the Unique identifier)
    • Client Secret
  • Close the connection popup

Validating the Integration

To verify a deletion request in Zendesk, log in to your Zendesk account and search for the consumer in question in your end-user list. Observe that the user can no longer be found, having been deleted from your Zendesk account.

  • Note that deletion removes the consumer's user profile only. Their correspondence (tickets and messages) is not deleted.
  • All of a consumer's tickets must be Solved or Closed before they can be auto-deleted. If a consumer has open tickets, deletion will not succeed - those tickets must be moved to a resolved state and then automation can be retried.